beginner

Gear Debates, Reviews, Rants, and Raves. And of course a touch of bragging.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

beginner

Postby azerbaijani » Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:16 am

hey peeps, i'm totally new to this whole scene, i was wondering if anyone could make any recommendations as to gear which can get me started, i've just ordered a korg kaoss pad 3 and i'm wondering what other gear would work well with this.

Most Valuable Poster!

Postby Silent Frog » Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:36 am

Depends what you are planning on doing. So, three questions:
1) Are you wanting to DJ, perform live or produce your own tunes?
2) Have you done any of what you are planning to do before or are you a complete novice?
3) What artists are you most wanting to sound like/who are your inspirations?

Answer them and I'm sure we'll all be happy to help!

Postby azerbaijani » Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:42 am

im hoping to produce my own tunes until i feel im comfortable enough to maybe consider live performances, i'm a complete novice, i've only ever used software to try and make stuff i.e buzz machines. preferably i'd hope to create stuff similar to aphex albeit not as good, more towards the ambient side of his stuff, but also i'd love to be able to create some venetian snares stuff.

Most Valuable Poster!

Postby Silent Frog » Tue Sep 16, 2008 2:20 pm

Well. First things first, you are going to need some software. Most people recommend Fruity Loops to start out with as it's the easiest to get your head around and start making tunes. There's plenty of threads on this forum to help you out with getting started on that in the software section.