my new router is driving me FUCKING crazy

Just say whatever you want.... spam, hate on things... whatever you want. Topics deleted after 2 weeks of inactivity.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

Hardcore Member
User avatar
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:00 am

my new router is driving me FUCKING crazy

Postby Drukqs » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:28 am

My old Linksys WRT54G bricked a few days ago, so I ran out and tried to find another one but had to settle for a Linksys BEFSR41. I brought it home and set it up exactly the way my other one was set up -- pretty much factory defaults, turned off some of the security settings that aren't very friendly towards uTorrent, made myself the DMZ on the network so I don't have to worry about port forwarding.

I even tried using the disc that came with it (even though they're pointless because it's just a stupid app written with "next" and "back" buttons with pictures showing you how to set it up, but even that started giving me errors towards the end of the disc when it searches for the router and lets you set a password for 192.168.1.1 and such.

EVERYTHING is fucked up.

I time out all the goddamn time when trying to load pages in Firefox, 95% of my torrents are red giving me a tracker error saying they're offline, and now I'm suddenly unable to sign into Pidgin and I have to use the horrid AIM 6.

I have tried resetting the modem and router, different cables, pretty much everything and I'm not sure what's wrong with this piece of shit but it's certainly not working the way it's supposed to.

What am I missing, IHB? What's wrong with my router? If you have any idea what could possibly be wrong with it, please let me know.

Normal moderator and owner
User avatar
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:00 am
Average track rating:
4.7/5 out of 6 votes

Re: my new router is driving me FUCKING crazy

Postby PEPCORE » Fri Sep 04, 2009 3:35 pm

I would first recommend too look if other computers in your network have similar problems.

If your computer is the only one with the problems.
I would do an extensive virus and spyware scan with different tools on the computer in question.

I had simlar problems that you have and it was a virus that took some time to remove.

If it really is your router that is causing the problem i would say turning of dhcp and manually asigning ip's to the computers in your network might do the trick.

1337 P0ZT3r
User avatar
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:00 am
Location: California

Postby fap* » Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:26 pm

.

i would look and see if you have the latest firmware;
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/sup ... 1/download

i would probably reload the firmware anyways...punch the reset. then try with the factory defaults.

also i would unplug both devices...then power up the linksys and then power up your broadband.

did you change any of the cables? how many machine are you using on this?

.
.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::fap*:::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

.

Normal moderator and owner
User avatar
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:00 am
Average track rating:
4.7/5 out of 6 votes

Postby PEPCORE » Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:48 pm

fap* wrote:.

i would look and see if you have the latest firmware;
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/sup ... 1/download

i would probably reload the firmware anyways...punch the reset. then try with the factory defaults.

also i would unplug both devices...then power up the linksys and then power up your broadband.

did you change any of the cables? how many machine are you using on this?

.


Fuck you fap*, with your always better solutions.

Normal moderator and owner
User avatar
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:00 am
Average track rating:
4.7/5 out of 6 votes

Postby PEPCORE » Sat Sep 05, 2009 12:54 am

Btw fap* do you use a protocol for these questions.

Like top down and shit?, or bottom up?

Maximum Pwnrdrive
User avatar
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: seattle, wa

Postby rokhausen » Sat Sep 05, 2009 12:55 am

face down, ass up

1337 P0ZT3r
User avatar
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:00 am
Location: California

Postby fap* » Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:49 am

PEPCORE wrote:Btw fap* do you use a protocol for these questions.

Like top down and shit?, or bottom up?

.

heh, let see if he gets it fixed first.

i trouble shoot shit like this all day and i never really follow a protocol.

.
.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::fap*:::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

.

Hardcore Member
User avatar
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:00 am

Postby Drukqs » Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:55 am

I already have the latest firmware.

I said it's the router that's giving me hell, which means that none of my computers on my network are receiving connectivity to the internet. All of them only receive local access.

What I did was unplug the piece of shit router and go oldschool with a direct connection to my modem. None of the other computers in my house will have internet but hey, better one than none!

PEPCORE wrote:I would do an extensive virus and spyware scan with different tools on the computer in question.


I don't get viruses or spyware of any sort. Nor do I have anti-virus or anti-spyware software on my machine. I know what I'm downloading. I haven't had any virii on this machine in the 3 years I've owned it after building it.

I found out that there's something wrong with the router, which is what I originally thought the problem was. It was extremely obvious that the router was busted when I discovered that a direct connection to my modem works flawlessly.

I'm expecting a brand new Linksys WRT54G (my old router) in the mail this week.

Pwncall Member
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Warsaw

Re: my new router is driving me FUCKING crazy

Postby Gostek » Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:16 am

Drukqs wrote:EVERYTHING is fucked up.

word
duh duh duh duh, duh duh duh duh

Supah No0b
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:00 am

Postby thje » Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 am

shit

Supah No0b
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:00 am

Postby thje » Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 am

bro

Return to Bullshit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests