Renoise - Sample Sync

Post links, share files, discuss breaks. All things breaks.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

n3wb

Renoise - Sample Sync

Postby bokip » Wed May 14, 2008 2:38 am

Hi Everyone, I'm fairly new to Renoise although I've used ImpulseTracker since 1998.

I have a question about the Sample Sync box in Renoise -- I've been messing around and looking at other people's songs to study their techniques, and I've noticed that some people use this feature and some do not.

Personally I don't understand why you wouldn't use this -- you can slow down the bpm and the sample will scale itself properly, which is useful if you are creating the patterns at a slower speed and then upping the bpm.

Am I missing something inherent... is there anything Wrong or Bad about using the Sample Sync feature that I'm missing?

Thanks a lot!

Breakcore Member

Postby nsound » Wed May 14, 2008 10:24 am

i never use the sync feature and i dont see why people do - i totally dont get it?

Elite!

Postby weyheyhey !! » Wed May 14, 2008 12:34 pm

Yeah, as I understand it the sample sync simply adjusts the rate of your samples to scale with the current BPM. However, it's nowhere near as sophisticated as software like Ableton Live/etc and so what it does is adjust the playback sample rate - which doesn't preserve the sample's original pitch, ... pretty useless to me.

Effectively, it's the same as playing a vinyl and adjusting the deck's pitch slider.

I guess it'd be ok with slight increases in bpm, perhaps +/- 10BPM but more than that would sound like chipmunk stuff I reckon...

Pwncall Member

Postby JBL » Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:50 pm

Actually.. it depends what you are doing.. here are some situations and I'll tell you how I would deal with them.